One off the bucket list

Last Wednesday, I ventured out into a Nor’easter and met my friend Elyse at West Elm. We weren’t meeting up to check out the amazing holiday decor (where I wanted to buy literally everything) but to meet these guys:

Yup. John and Sherry Petersik of Young House Love! I’ve been a big fan of theirs since I started reading their blog over two years ago and when we bought our house, it was their blog that got me through our bathroom project. They made me feel like it was ok that we didn’t move as fast on our projects like they show on HGTV. Their projects are inspiring and make me feel like “Hey. You can do this and you’ll get through it” even if it does take us (ahem) a year to do a bathroom. In the end, we’re incredibly proud of the work we’ve done, and know that the end result will be worth it because we’ve put our blood, sweat and tears into it. So when they announced that they were writing a book and then going on a tour which included Boston, Elyse and I HAD to go.

I raced from work to meet Elyse who was awesome and got there before I could and held us a spot in line. It was a good thing she did, as there was a line that wrapped around the store! We didn’t have to wait long until John and Sherry came out and gave a brief overview of some projects they brought with them and then got right to signing and snapping pics with all of their fans.

As we were getting closer to the signing table I started to get nervous! It’s kind of a crazy concept when you think about it. They put their life out there for the world to see, so it’s kind of weird to see them in person where you know what’s going on with them. So for them, they’re just meeting a “fan”, where I’m meeting people that I think are so talented! I finally made it up to the table and I completely stumbled over my words and I was doing my best to complete sentences!

But once I started chatting with them, they are so incredibly kind and genuine (and Sherry’s skin is seriously like porcelain) that I felt right at ease. I mentioned how we were in the process of renovating our 100 year old home with a 100 years worth of problems and they both a chuckle out of that. Their words of advice? It may be hard while your in the middle of a project to see the end, but once it’s done you appreciate it so much more because you were involved in it. They signed my book and in turn, I signed their yearbook they’re bringing with them city to city. I can’t wait to dive into some of their projects and see what I can come up with!

So thanks Sherry and John for hanging out in Boston during a Nor’easter and inspiring so many of us DIYers out there!

One response to “One off the bucket list

  1. LOVE THIS POST! Thanks for capturing this super fun night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

