A Friday Treat

Well happy Friday folks! Can’t say enough how happy I am that it’s the end of the week. I’m looking to blog more now that I have the time (happens when you get laid off) and since I’ve been home, it’s allowed me to hang out more with this guy:

brom_1
Which brings me to today’s post. See, our little guy has a food allergy, we believe to chicken, so we’ve become accustomed to getting him treats with no meat in them, which is kind of difficult (and expensive). One treat we’ve discovered he LOVES are dehydrated sweet potatoes. Brom goes absolutely nuts for them. When I saw blog post from Tim and Mary over at 17Apart where they made their own sweet potato treats for their dog Basil, I knew I could do the same for our pup! So earlier this week, I decided I’d try it out, hell, I’ve got the time!

I picked up a bag of sweet potatoes for about $3 and while the oven was preheating at 175˚, I took a few and sliced them on the thicker side.

sweet_potato
And then I just laid them out on a greased baking sheet that I covered with foil so it would be a nice and easy clean up.

sweet_potato_2

And then, you just let them slow roast in the oven for about 8 hours. I rotated them about halfway through, but that’s literally it. Set and forget it. I let Brom be the judge on how they turned out:

brom-eating-treat_1

I think he liked them:

brom-eating-treat

I’d make these again in a heartbeat since they were so easy. Have you ever attempted to make your own treats for your pet?

2 responses to “A Friday Treat

  1. Sorry to hear about your layoff. My husband lost his job back in September and is still looking. My boss’ dog has allergies, too. She feeds him the sweet potato treats and his other favorite is frozen watermelon. They cut it up and stuff his kong with it and then pop it in the freezer. He loves it. She is pretty sure his allergy is poultry too. So that includes chicken, duck, turkey and any bird out there.

Leave a Reply

