Road Trippin’ and a Far Away Surprise Visitor

A couple of weeks ago, the fiancé and I made a trip up to my hometown in Maine not only to visit with family, but also have a very big wedding event happen…me trying on wedding dresses! I wasn’t ready to try on dresses just yet, so what was the push? I got a visit from a very special Aussie transplant: my sister.

katie-and-meg

Taking in a celtic’s game!

She surprised me in NYC in February for my birthday and was been home for a few weeks and then headed out to hang out with some of her friends in San Fran before heading back to Australia. The next time that I will see her will most likely be for my bachelorette party before the wedding! Insanity. So, her one request (besides getting me to narrow down my colors which are currently 6) was to at least see me try on wedding dresses. And she got her way.

That Saturday my mom, Katie and I left the house early to my very first appointment over at Andrea’s in Portland. The process was interesting, but I did walk away with a style I’m digging, but definitely didn’t find ‘the one’. Adam made his way into the city where we met him at Portland’s famous Duckfat restaurant and put our name in for lunch. We’ve attempted a couple of times to eat here, but it’s always so popular and the waiting list is usually very long, but we were in luck! We only had to wait about 30 minutes, so where can we go and hang out? Why, let’s go get some oysters! Well, at Katie and Adam ate oysters.

Eventide outside

Photo Credit: The William Brown Project

We went across the street to Eventide and I was blown away by how beautiful this little restaurant was! When you first walk in, you’re greeted with a giant granite bowl full of oysters from all over the coast, with the menu beautifully done on a chalkboard and even the menu you’re given is done so well. Check out some pictures below!

Photo credit: Bangor Daily News

Photo credit: Bangor Daily News

Chalkboard

Photo Credit: James Beard Foundation

Photo Credit: James Beard Foundation

So, even though my Mom and I didn’t have oysters, I still appreciated the aesthetic of the place and appreciate all the details that was put into it. It was an absolute gorgeous restaurant. We did enjoy a fantastic meal at Duckfat and that I can completely recommend.

Have you ever taken a close look at the décor in a restaurant? Do you find inspiration there? My favorite part of this place, was how light and airy it felt. What about you?

3 responses to “Road Trippin’ and a Far Away Surprise Visitor

  1. Scott Nicholson

    http://helmsworkshop.com/work-and-play/project/8/ check out this place in Austin, i know adam would appreciate it too.

  2. Reblogged this on Local Sprouts and commented:
    I love being a surprise, in-person guest on my sister’s blog!

  3. Pingback: And They Cooked Happily Ever After…with chocolate! | Local Sprouts

Leave a Reply

